Let’s get caught up ….

So now that I’ve figured out domains and how to make sure you can see this, let me bring you up to speed on what’s been happening.

I have been living in Bianca, my 34′ Class A motorhome, for almost a month now, and it has been been quite a journey of self-discovery.  I decided to stick around locally until the end of July, just to give Bella and I a chance to settle in and relax for a while.  The process of downsizing and moving really took a lot of energy and was pretty exhausting on several levels.

I’m learning how to live in a small space, how to take life at a slower pace (still a work in progress) and how to drive a vehicle with a very large footprint.  I can hook and unhook my toad (aka Blu, my towed vehicle) in just a few minutes now, and I know how to execute a turn in the motorhome so I don’t shear off any light posts or run over small animals.  Bella and I are bonding in a way I wouldn’t have expected,  and I see changes in both of us as we adapt to a new kind of lifestyle.  We walk a lot, go for hikes and she gets her ball thrown now more than ever before.  Still she doesn’t yet love life in Bianca, time will tell if that’s going to happen or not.

And as much as I thought I had purged and reduced, I am finding that what I actually use is still just a fraction of what I kept.  Which has been a really cool revelation, especially for someone like me who thought surely the key to happiness was to have as much stuff as possible.   I learn so much every day – about myself and the world around me.  And while I haven’t actually started traveling yet, this life I’m living is about as far from where I was a couple of months ago as it could be.  So far, it’s been a journey of letting go.  Travel on!

One thought on “Let’s get caught up ….

  1. Aleta Rossi thomas

    This is just so wonderful. As you know I’m downsizing too, but I’m still living in a space without wheels 🙂

    When I was younger I , like you, thought I needed as much stuff as possible. And now..not so much. I find I’m happiest with a suitcase full of my favorite things in a hotel in Paris.

    Travel on !

    Like

Leave a comment